A Game of Reincarnation

IMDb describes American Horror Story as “an anthology series centering on different characters and locations, including a house with a murderous past, an asylum, a witch coven, a freak show, a hotel, a farmhouse in Roanoke and a cult.” What it means to say: it’s a new story and new characters every season. If you haven’t seen or hated the last one – forget it already, because the new one is going to be something else entirely.

American Horror Story. Seasons 1-3
American Horror Story. 1-3

I just love this original concept to change everything in the series, but the horror and the actors. And that’s exactly where its strength lies: with the strong actors’ performances, great and distinct cinematographic style and new shocking, classy yet somewhat experimental storylines. When you have just one season every single time, you’re not afraid to play around – kill characters, abuse them, make them good, bad, terrible, deformed. It doesn’t matter – they’re like cats with 9 lives to waste.

American Horror Story. S04
American Horror Story. S04
American Horror Story. Season 5
American Horror Story. S05
American Horror Story. Season 6
American Horror Story. S06








Something else that doesn’t matter as much to AHS – criticism, and fans. They didn’t like how the story ended, what happened to the characters, how everything was set and made? – Well, fuck them – there’s always another season and a promise of something entirely different. The actors and writers aren’t attached to the characters they created and portrayed in the past and this is a dream come true for everyone involved: especially the fans who can feast on watching their beloved characters die and feeling relieved and cathartic as they are “revived” in a new era as a new persona very next season. It’s a win-win. At least for Buddhism and reincarnation.


Evan Peters in AHS
Evan Peters in the new AHS season Cult. Can’t wait…